Repost of important information from the MNVA MNVALogo_ban

After a relatively calm session at the legislature this year, we have a real doozy on our hands. The time to act is NOW and we need YOUR help in the fight.

If you have any questions regarding these proposals or need some assistance crafting an e-mail, please comment in the MNVA Facebook group or feel free to contact me directly via Jason@mnvapers.com

Two bills have been introduced at the Minnesota legislature which would change the definition of vapor products and impose a $0.30/mL tax on e-liquid. The language present in these bills sets that stage for future taxation of devices and we need your immediate assistance to strongly oppose both bills, as this proposal would increase the retail price of a standard 30mL bottle by at least $9.00 per bottle. Cigalikes would be subject to this tax, but due to their small quantity of liquid, would see a modest reduction from the current structure.

Call and e-mail members of the Senate Taxes Committee and House Health and Human Services Reform Committee as soon as possible to encourage them to strongly oppose these bills, as they are terrible for consumers, terrible for Minnesota business and provide a competitive advantage to products offered by companies like R.J. Reynolds, Altria and Lorillard.

Please start by following CASAA’s call to action, which will send an e-mail to your senator based on address – this form requires that you enter some basic info, but will generate a pre-filled letter that you can edit if you wish or send as-is. This process will take no more than 3-5 minutes, although we strongly encourage you to add a personalized message, as this will have a greater impact.

http://blog.casaa.org/2015/04/minnesota-call-to-action-oppose-sf-2105.html

Please also contact members of the Senate Taxes Committee and House Health and Human Services Reform Committee to express the following.

Tell the committees as well as your own representatives to oppose SF2025 and HB2182 because:

  • Rep. Davids, author of the House bill, recently stated that “when you have a surplus of this magnitude you are basically proving to taxpayers that they paid more than they should have to state government.”
  • It will increase the cost of the e-liquid you enjoy by $9.00 per bottle, or a nearly 50% increase from current retail pricing.
  • The dramatic increase in taxation will force small businesses that you frequent to close their doors.
  • Minnesota is currently projected at a nearly $2 billion budget surplus over the next two years, making new taxes unwarranted.
  • These bills set the stage for further tax increases on devices that have helped you quit smoking.
  • There is a current effort to reduce the tax rate on cigars, a combustible tobacco product. Proposing to increase taxes on non-combustible products sends a message that the Legislature prefers that Minnesotans continue smoking.
  • Imposing unwarranted taxes on vapor products will discourage current smokers from moving to a far less harmful alternative to combustible tobacco.

The time is now – we must oppose these bills swiftly and strongly – if these companion bills pass into law, vaping in the state of Minnesota will be severely damaged, and many of your favorite businesses will be forced to close. Also, you will have less money in your pocket.

House Health & Human Services Reform Committee:

Tara Mack (R – Chair)
651-296-5506
E-mail: rep.tara.mack@house.mn

Roz Peterson (R – Vice Chair)
651-296-5387
E-mail: rep.roz.peterson@house.mn

Joe Mullery (DFL Lead)
651-296-4262
E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

Tony Albright (R)
651-296-5185
E-mail: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

Susan Allen (DFL)
651-296-7152
E-mail: rep.susan.allen@house.mn

Jeff Backer (R)
651-296-4929
E-mail: rep.jeff.backer@house.mn

Dave Baker (R)
651-296-6206
E-mail: rep.dave.baker@house.mn

Matt Dean (R)
651-296-3018
E-mail: rep.matt.dean@house.mn

Peter Fischer (DFL)
651-296-5363
E-mail: rep.peter.fischer@house.mn

Mary Franson (R)
651-296-3201
E-mail: rep.mary.franson@house.mn

Mike Freiberg (DFL)
651-296-4176
E-mail: rep.mike.freiberg@house.mn

Tim Kelly (R)
651-296-8635
E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

Tina Liebling (DFL)
651-296-0573
E-mail: rep.tina.liebling@house.mn

Diane Loeffler (DFL)
651-296-4219
E-mail: rep.diane.loeffler@house.mn

Kathy Lohmer (R)
651-296-4244
E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Sandra Masin (DFL)
651-296-3533
E-mail: rep.sandra.masin@house.mn

Rena Moran (DFL)
651-296-5158
E-mail: rep.rena.moran@house.mn

Nels Pierson (R)
651-296-4378
E-mail: rep.nels.pierson@house.mn

Duane Quam (R)
651-296-9236
E-mail: rep.duane.quam@house.mn

Joe Schomacker (R)
651-296-5505
E-mail: rep.joe.schomacker@house.mn

Jennifer Schultz (DFL)
651-296-2228
E-mail: rep.jennifer.schultz@house.mn

Nick Zerwas (R)
651-296-4237
E-mail: rep.nick.zerwas@house.mn

Copy & Paste E-Mail list:

rep.tara.mack@house.mn, rep.roz.peterson@house.mn, rep.joe.mullery@house.mn,rep.tony.albright@house.mn, rep.susan.allen@house.mn, rep.jeff.backer@house.mn,rep.dave.baker@house.mn, rep.matt.dean@house.mn, rep.peter.fischer@house.mn,rep.mary.franson@house.mn, rep.mike.freiberg@house.mn, rep.tim.kelly@house.mn,rep.tina.liebling@house.mn, rep.diane.loeffler@house.mn, rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn,rep.sandra.masin@house.mn, rep.rena.moran@house.mn, rep.nels.pierson@house.mn,rep.duane.quam@house.mn, rep.joe.schomacker@house.mn,rep.jennifer.schultz@house.mn, rep.nick.zerwas@house.mn

Senate Taxes Committee:

Rod Skoe (DFL – Chair)
sen.rod.skoe@senate.mn
651-296-4196

Sen. Ann Rest (DFL – Vice Chair)
651-296-2889

http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/members/member_emailform.php?mem_id=1051&ls=

Julianne Ortman (R – Lead)
651-296-4837
sen.julianne.ortman@senate.mn

Paul Gazelka (R)
651-296-4875
sen.paul.gazelka@senate.mn

Lyle Koenen (DFL – Senate bill author)
651-296-5094
sen.lyle.koenen@senate.mn

Carla Nelson (R)
651-296-4848
sen.carla.nelson@senate.mn

Roger Reinert (DFL)
651-296-4188
sen.roger.reinert@senate.mn

David Senjem (R)
651-296-3903
sen.david.senjem@senate.mn

Dave Thompson (R)
651-296-5252
sen.dave.thompson@senate.mn

Sen. Thomas Bakk (DFL)
651-296-8881

http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/members/member_emailform.php?mem_id=1003&ls=

Sen. Kari Dziedzic (DFL)
651-296-7809

http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/members/member_emailform.php?mem_id=1193&ls=

Sen. Chris Eaton (DFL)
651-296-8869

http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/members/member_emailform.php?mem_id=1192&ls=

Sen. John Marty (DFL)
651-296-5645

http://www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/members/member_emailform.php?mem_id=1035&ls=

Copy & Paste Email List:

(Note: This list does not include Senate members that use email forms for correspondence.  Please contact them via their individual websites listed above.)

sen.rod.skoe@senate.mn, sen.julianne.ortman@senate.mn, sen.paul.gazelka@senate.mn,sen.lyle.koenen@senate.mn, sen.carla.nelson@senate.mn, sen.roger.reinert@senate.mn,sen.david.senjem@senate.mn, sen.dave.thompson@senate.mn

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This